Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat

KayaWell Icon

Nose and Throat

ENT physicians must complete about 15 years of education and training, including a 4-year undergraduate program, 4-year medical program, at least 5 years of specialty training and a 1- to 2-year residency program (e.g., General Surgery). Then, physicians must undergo peer evaluations and pass oral and written examinations administered by the American Board of Otolaryngology.

After attaining board certification, otolaryngologists may pursue a one- or two- year fellowship for extensive training and examinations in a subspecialty area. Otolaryngology subspecialties include:

Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Head and Neck Surgery
Pediatric Otolaryngology
Sleep Medicine
Board certification is valid for 10 years. To revalidate their certification, ENTs must meet guidelines established by the American Board of Medical Specialties and complete a Maintenance of Certification Program. This process emphasizes professional standing, lifelong learning and self-assessment, cognitive expertise and evaluation of performance in practice.

Valid certificate issued by the American Board of Otolaryngology
Valid, unrestricted medical license
Privileges to practice otolaryngology-head and neck surgery in accredited hospital or surgical center
Completion of required CME credits
Successful completion of the American Board of Otolaryngology self-assessment module
Maintenance of Certification Examination

Nose and Throat